888 Challenge: Our First Books Are Here

Julie (my spousal unit) came home last night with a box of books.  The folks at the library were awfully glad she came to pick up the books I’d ordered!  So now we both have to finish up the books we are currently reading and BEGIN!  Yay.  Except I’m currently addicted to my Nintendo DS.  I got a new game for Christmas and every night after the little munchkin is tucked up in his bed, I get to play.  And I play for hours, long after everyone else is asleep.  I’ve been reading Artemis Fowl for 3 days now.  Usually I would have finished it in hours!  So I don’t know how well I’ll do with this challenge for the first little while.  I’m sure I’ll get bored of the game soon (or possibly win?).

The books in our box are:

Empire Falls by Richard Russo  *

Saturday Wife by Naomi Ragen

Saturday by Ian McEwan

The Mysterious West short stories edited by Tony Hillerman

March by Geraldine Brooks  *

The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

The Bourne Betrayal by Eric Van Lustbader (will he be as good as Ludlam?)

Till the Butcher’s Cut Him Down by Marcia Muller

The Fly On the Wall by Tony Hillerman

Nancy Wake by Russell Braddon

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon  *

The Wide Window (No. 3 in A Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket

The Known World by Edward P. Jones  *

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Sewer, Gas and Electric by Matt Ruff

The Cheshire Cat’s Eye by Marcia Muller

People of Darkness by Tony Hillerman

Grantville Gazette by Eric Flint

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson   *

 Many of these are not on my 888 list (I’ve put stars on the ones that are), so I may just skip them this round.  Julie was smart enough to leave empty spaces for this type of a situation.  A few are re-reads for us, like A Clockwork Orange (maybe I can fit it in to one of my categories?), but it’s been enough years that it should be as good as new.  We’ll see how it goes from here.  I’m excited to actually keep a record of the books I read.  Maybe I can now add a sense of accomplishment to the enjoyment I already experience when I read a book.

~ by byrningbunny on January 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

