888: I FINALLY finished Atremis Fowl

Having finished it, I still don’t feel like I can really give it an honest review.  Trying to read something after hours of video games, which come after hours of a toddler, when you are exhausted, is not the best time to read for comprehension.  You’d think that since this was a children’s book, and one I’d been looking forward to reading, I’d really have enjoyed it.  But, no, it was a chore.  I had to finish it since I said I would.  That’s just like homework to me, so I don’t know how well I’m going to do on this reading challenge.  Usually, I read like I breathe.  I do it every single day of my life.  I never leave the house without an assortment of books and I always find time to read when I’m travelling or visiting.  I can’t think of a reason to not read that doesn’t involve pain.  A severe migraine will keep me from reading.  Not much else. 

So, back to Artemis.  I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it.  It is probably perfect for it’s intended audience.  There are many unusual characters, and lovely scatalogical humor, so what kid wouldn’t like it?  But as for compelling?  Let’s just say that, to me, it wasn’t. 

And for heaven’s sake, why all the uproar about this book?  The fairies?  The aforementioned scatalogical humor?  Magic?  If this book is too influential for poor unfinished minds, then we have a serious problem with the weaklings we are raising.  Hmmm, last time I looked, most of the kids I’ve had contact with certainly didn’t have problems deciding what they liked.  Or what they considered right vs. wrong.  Matter of fact, they’ll happily give you their opinion on just about anything.  So how could this fantasy novel be considered dangerous to young minds?

The 888 challenge: http://triple8challenge.blogspot.com/

~ by byrningbunny on January 20, 2008.

One Response to “888: I FINALLY finished Atremis Fowl”

  1. I was unnimpressed with it overall. I hate to tell you that when you read a book after me, but I don’t want you to waste your time. MAN that was like wading through frozen molasses for you!

Leave a Reply

