888: One more done

I finally finished another one of the books on my challenge list instead of all the other books I’ve been reading. I just stayed up all night reading. It was wonderful to be home, childless for the weekend, and indulge myself and read until I finished.

I read Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, one of the Pulitzer Prize Selections.  Wow, what can I say about this book that probably hasn’t already been said?  My partner raved about it.  Truly, while reading, she laughed out loud frequently, she had a difficult time not telling me all about it, and when she was done, she gushed.  My experience was a little different. 

Reading is usually just a brief break before I sleep.  I realized as I was reading Middlesex that I was missing much of what Ju gushed about.  I kept nodding off.  Thank goodness she did tell me about certain parts that she particularly enjoyed because it would wake me a bit from my reading fugue and I would go back and reread.  I feel a little cheated.  I will have to put this on my rereading list for the future when I’m not chasing a toddler all day.

The characters were memorable, I loved the topic, and I’m very curious about Chapter Eleven.  Also, I was happy to realize that the book did have a “place” called Middlesex.  My first impression from the name was of a family saga that occurs in an old family home named Middlesex.  I was surprised to find out what the book was really about.  (What rock have I been living under — oh, that’s right, I have a toddler.)

So, on to the next book, after a short detour.  I’m currently reading Secrets on Saturday: A Lois Meade Mystery by Ann Purser.  Not on my list at all, but I’d already ordered it before we began the challenge.  No concentration necessary with this one.  I can fall asleep while reading and pick right up where I left off the next day.

 Learn about the 888 Reading Challenge here: http://triple8challenge.blogspot.com/

~ by byrningbunny on January 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

