My First Gluten Free Bread

Our soon-to-be adopted son has food allergies — wheat, soy, milk and peanuts.  It was a long and arduous process to discover that, mostly because the docs wouldn’t listen to us and test him.  Grrrr.   That’s now in the past and we are currently dealing with finding food to feed our toddler that has some nutritional value.  Unfortunately, he can manage sugar and junk food just fine without any threat of asphyxiation or the runs, but he’s not always able to eat the food that we take for granted:  pasta, peanut butter, milk, etc.  Imagine the difficulties of feeding a toddler who can’t eat toast, macaroni or cheese chunks,  just to name a few things that are usually standard fare for the little ones we have in our home.  We are having to learn a new way of eating around here (and not always enjoying it very much!) 

DSC09080 Anyway, last night I made my very first loaf of gluten-free bread.  We cracked up when it was done because it looked a little like a blonde brick.  It has yeast in it, but it doesn’t smell or look anything like what I’m used to when I make a loaf a bread (as if I do it frequently — HA.)  It doesn’t taste as bad as it looks, though, and it has to taste better than the stuff we get from the frozen food section for him.  He seemed to appreciate it today. 

~ by byrningbunny on February 6, 2008.

8 Responses to “My First Gluten Free Bread”

  1. That doesnt look bad at all, infact it kind of looks like a pound cake.

  2. Too bad it doesn’t taste like pound cake!

  3. It actually tastes ok. I think M would like it more if it tasted like pound cake too!
    You are a good mom 🙂

  4. That’s your FIRST gluten free loaf?! Trust me, it looks amazing! I have been attempting this for a long time and I have had many attrocious failures. You wouldn’t want to share the recipe, would you? I use Pamela’s bread mix now, but I am always looking for a good recipe from scratch. Best of luck to you and your family. Your soon-to-be son is very lucky to have you!

  5. Thank you so much for responding! I’m in the US and I’m sure no one sells Celimix products here. I looked for it online but didn’t find any called Celimix Easy Mix. Is it the quick bread mix? If you do know where I can find it to order please let me know. Thank you again. 🙂

  6. Hi there. I know it’s been a while since you said you were looking for a banana bread recipe and the mood may very well have passed by now, but I finally posted one on my blog. It is made with egg replacer but if you can have eggs just use 2 eggs instead.

  7. PS
    That comment above is from allergymom. I don’t know why it has switched over to my real name (Charmaine) and my picture is gone, but anyway, that’s me. 🙂

  8. Hi, if I might suggest this gal’s blog. She has a wonderful sense of humor about that these challenges….food allergies. Her recipes are great and to be trusted! Hope it helps.
    Diane
    http://everythingfreeeating.blogspot.com/2008/04/substance-of-things-hoped-for.html

Leave a Reply

