Heads or Tails Tuesdays: #26 The Letter P

flip2

Pretty, perfect, pals, plunder, ploughs, pleasure, peace — there is so much from which to choose! But this week, I’ve had something else on my mind and it just happens to start with “P”.

Physicians can be Patronizing! I’m sure that is not an incredible revelation to most of us. Many, many folks have had first-hand experience, I’m sure. Over my life, I’ve had many occasions to rue the decision to waste money and seek a physician’s “expert” advice. As a teenager/young-adult, I had “female problems” (as they were characterized back in the day. Heaven forbid we name the problems.) From the time I was 13, I heard, “play tennis, do sit-ups, quit complaining, you don’t need pain medication, quit being a baby,women have been going through this for centuries, take this anti-psychotic, etc.” One had the audacity to pat me on the head! You get my drift.

Unfortunately, I also suffered from migraines. The most memorable was the first, at age nine. Out of school for three weeks and taking demerol. Would you be a little concerned? There were many reasons why this was not investigated further, and soon it was just a matter of course. Haven’t seen her for a couple of days? Oh, must be a migraine again. Look in a dark, silent room for the person curled up in agony.

Now combine the two. Down for the count with migraines on a regular basis and passing out on the bathroom floor from pain, also a regular occurrence. Advice for both? Anti-psychotics! Hmmm….

Fast forward a few years. I happen upon a nurse practitioner. She is suspicious that perhaps I’m not making this up for attention and orders tests (20 years it took for this to happen!) Surgeons, Oncologists, surgeries, too many medications, reconstructions and much pain later and voila, I wasn’t making it up for attention!! As a matter of fact, just about every piece of advice ever given to me by the docs was not only wrong, but dangerous! for the condition with which I was plagued. Humph! Was the pain worth the feeling of justification? NO. lol

But we still have the migraines. Hmmm. So, keep pushing those anti-psychotics. Until another random female practitioner decides to do a brain scan. The first and only since the first episode at the age of nine. I was then 43. Guess what? They found something in that ole’ brain that didn’t belong. Imagine that. There has been something causing this pain all these years. So more of the tests, docs, surgeons, medications, reconstructions, etc. Add to this, recovery. When they take pieces of your brain out, it no longer works the way it was intended. So recovery. Speech, writing, computing, calculating, planning, vocabulary, social anxiety, personal interactions, memory, facial recognition, attention, balance, coordination, hearing, sight, sequencing, sleep and so many other things that one just doesn’t think of beforehand, are different after brain surgery. To help you through this you’ve seen surgeons, neurologists, GP’s and neuropsychologists. You’ve had MRIs, CT’s and EEGs. You’ve been to the sleep clinic twice for the tests and they’ve found some inexplicable brain wave activity during sleep. At this point, you move far, far away. Okay, so fast forward again.

Four years later, you go to the doc and you discuss some sleep problems you’ve had since the brain surgery. You discuss some of the symptoms. Memory, speech, balance, coordination, planning, vocabulary, anxiety, etc. Your doctor recommends you go see a counselor and asks which anti-psychotics you want to take.

Is patronizing a strong enough term?


Wanna play HEADS OR TAILS TUESDAYS?

Other HoT Participants

Tuesday Themes:

  • February 19: HEADS – Anything that starts with the letter P
  • February 26: HEADS – Wonder *OR* TAILS – Wander
  • March 4: TAILS – List 7 things from any category of your choice
  • March 11: HEADS – Anything green
~ by byrningbunny on February 19, 2008.

6 Responses to “Heads or Tails Tuesdays: #26 The Letter P”

  1. Oh geez.. I really sorry you had to go through all this. Not just the years of pain but the years of frustration with the medical personnel. How awful!

    I would gander a guess that you are right about the men, too.

    I just posted news of a contest I’m having for Heads Or Tails players. Check it out. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry for what you’ve been through. It’s sad when doctors/physicians don’t show concern and empathy for their patients. It’s terrible when doctors/physicians carelessly make diagnosis and prescriptions without really looking into the real problem.

  3. Your post was most interesting and educational.
    It is sad that it took you so long to find the right diagonosis.
    I wish you well.

  4. All they are is pill pushers; they are sales people for the drug companies. Especially in the US; I don’t know about Canada and how bad they are. But I doubt they are as bad because the same drugs we have, you have for a fraction of the price. Excellent excellent post. My HoT is here, thank you.

  5. Oh my goodness! The medical field is so scary these days. You have to try and diagnosis yourself.

    It wasn’t until I came across a female doctor that I finally got some much needed help.

    I’ll take a female doctor any day, over a male. Sorry to hear your woes and hope you find a doctor that can help. 🙂

  6. Ohmigosh! What a hard time…hope everything takes a change for perfect!

Leave a Reply

