Heads or Tails Tuesdays #26

button3

Oddly enough, this week’s choices made me think of a Christmas song we sang at church, way back in the day when I was welcome in church. One of the saddest parts of not being welcome at church is missing the music, but it’s obviously not enough for me to pretend to be someone other than I am. It does give one much to wonder about as they wander, though. The lyrics follow. Familiar, anyone?

I Wonder As I Wander by John Jacob Niles.

I wonder as I wander out under the sky,
How Jesus the Savior did come for to die,
For poor orn’ry* people like you and like I,
I wonder as I wander, … out under the sky;

When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall,
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all,
And high from God’s heaven a star’s light did fall,
And the promise of the ages, … they then did recall;

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing,
A star in the sky or a bird on the wing,
Or all of God’s angels in heaven to sing,
He surely could’ve had it… ’cause he was the King.

*I learned this word as lonely.

These days, my little band of two- and four-legged creatures follow me as I wander, camera in hand, and we often wonder together about all that we see. (I can’t seem to separate the two words! So this is a heads and a tails.) We are surrounded by such intricate designs and beautiful creations that we are kept busy oohing and ahhing during our treks. This photo was taken a couple of summers ago, about 6am. Look how bright the light is! Even after all this time, the continually changing quality of light up here in Canada is one of the many wonders of my new home.

2006 Aug 16002

Heads or Tails directions and code or Participants

~ by byrningbunny on February 26, 2008.

11 Responses to “Heads or Tails Tuesdays #26”

  1. What a nice post.

    You can find my heads or tails ::here::

    Have a wonderful day!

  2. that is a totally cool picture. I love it.
    have I mentioned lately how much I LOVE your photos?

  3. I applaud you for not trying to be anyone other than who you are. I’m 51 and I still have to remind myself about that.

    Nature is full of countless wonders. The web is beautiful!

  4. LOVE that picture!!! My favorite thing to do is wander with my camera looking for nature’s wonders!

  5. Hi! My favorite hymn. I’m going to go to wikipedia to read about Niles. We both live in great photo places: but that is an awesome web! One of my favorite subjects.

    Hey: I got TWO new books from librarything today! Well, one from Random House because of librarything. I read & reviews “Have You Found Her” and inside that book it says if you e-mail Random House the review, they will give you Girlbomb for free. So I did. And so they did! the other book is a normal early reviewer book. Those reviews pay off! (I bet we are way cheaper than expensive NYC reviewers that they have to take out to dinner!)

  6. Love the post!! Jesus is the first one that came to my mind too. 🙂

  7. Hey….I’m from Canada too!

  8. Great photo ~ great post!

  9. The song wasn’t familiar, but you’d be welcome to wander into my church! I love the spider web. I have one of a spider web taken at night. I really like yours better, though. I need to improve my photo skills.

  10. I love that song. And the photo was spectacular! Kudos on being yourself. I’m sorry you can’t find a church that accepts you! I’m sure they’re out there! Don’t give up! 🙂

  11. I’m not Christian, but believe that Christ was a powerful figure in history. That song is beautiful. For whatever reason you don’t go to church, perhaps you can find the reason you want to within yourself.

    Regarding the photo: Ack! Reminds me of the horrible dream I had of having to herd tarantulas last night!

Leave a Reply

