Thursday Thirteen #7

Thirteen types of birds who have visited our yard this winter:

Evening Grosbeak

Pine Grosbeak

Redpoll

Black-billed Magpie

Common Raven

Prairie Chicken — that’s what everyone calls them up here. I think I’ve seen a couple of different types, but I’ve not been able to get good pictures because the dogs usually see (that means chases them away) them long before I can distinguish them from the surrounding terrain.

DSC06771

Black-capped Chickadee

Boreal Chickadee

DSC06749

Blue Jay– as many of these as we have in our yard, you’d think I’d be able to get a decent picture. They are determined not to let me photograph them though.

Robins

Downey Woodpecker

Woodpecker (I think it was a Downey)

Wrens, Sparrows, and Finches (I can’t tell them apart yet, so they get lumped together as one)

Eagle-an infrequent visitor

These are just the birds I’ve been able to identify that visit our yard. We see hawks all the time, but not close to the house. I found out today that we are not the only ones that feed these frequent visitors. Apparently they have quite a few of us trained to keep them well-sustained!

I was going to try and post a picture of each of them that I’ve taken this winter, but I don’t have my pics organized well enough and it’s taking forever! So this will have to do for now, so I can post and be done.

For Thursday Thirteen code and participants, Thursday Thirteen.

~ by byrningbunny on March 13, 2008.

3 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen #7”

  1. i really enjoyed #1… so scientific and funny.. hope u have a great week end and get lots of hugs too…

    chikku 🙂

  2. You have robins??? Yay!!!

    Not now. They stayed until about December this year. I hope they made it to a safe place! It’s almost time for them to fill the yard again.

  3. I’ve seen Wrens, Sparrows, and Finches in my yard, also mourning doves (a nesting pair), blue jays, cardinals, and once I saw a hawk looking for a free snack (chasing the birds feeding on the bird feeder!); boy was I mad! Love the shot of the woodpecker 🙂

Leave a Reply

