Green Thumb Sunday #2

GTSblue

Yesterday was a beautiful, but frigid, sunny day, the kind that makes you yearn for the warmth of the summer sun soothing your skin. The day before, we had another snow storm. As I was out walking with the dogs, we ventured off one of their well-packed paths, and sunk over our knees in the snow! By this time, there are so many layers of ice under the snow, that our attempts to escape the snow and ice would have been hilarious had anyone been there to watch. I always worry about my poor, gentle Tora, because she is a heavy dog, and she sinks the deepest. I’ve been asked what her breed is — the vets always list her as a black lab mix. They are being nice to us and to Tora when they do that. I will mention that she has some terrier in her! Ha!
DSC03045
Anyway, being out walking with the dogs, we happened to sink into the snow right over the spot where I found some raspberry canes under the high grasses. And it got me to thinking of all that we have to do in our “new” yard, when the snows finally stop falling and thaw truly sets in. We are looking forward to discovering treats left behind — perhaps some bulbs are waiting to break through the snow? Or maybe we will find some lilac bushes?

The one thing we definitely need to make a decision about is the tree pictured here. It’s a maple tree. We were thrilled to discover that we have a maple, because the fall colors up here are predominantly yellow and gold. There isn’t much red, and we find that we really miss the combination of colors. But, as you can see, this old guy has some problems. At some point, someone propped him up with a steel bar, which was thoughtful, but doesn’t reassure me. The heavy “limb” extends a few feet out beyond the edge of this picture. We don’t know why he’s grown in this direction, and I’m not sure I want him to continue this way. We’ve discussed some hard pruning, but we aren’t sure he’ll survive it. (Don’t ask me why I think he’s a he. I don’t have a clue.)

Does anyone have any advice for our poor old tree? Prune? Trust the steel reinforcements? We do have a toddler, and, occasionally, small foster kidlets, to consider. Should we put him out of his misery and replant? I hate the thought of killing any trees. The large farming enterprises up here are pulling up trees constantly. The vast fields always bring to mind the dustbowl of the ’30’s (at least to me.) A friend of ours, who is a farmer, has tried to reassure me that the “new” methods of farming will not let a repeat of that time occur, but it’s not easy to see the trees go.

We aren’t sure how long it will take a replacement for our single maple to grow, either. They are not native to the area and we’ve been in this region for four years now and have watched how slowly the pine and spruce grow each year, and they are native! So pulling out a tree isn’t high on our list of choices.

Anyway, those are some of my thoughts about our tree, home of the blue jays. Do you have any thoughts you’d like to share?

Green Thumb Sunday is hosted weekly by As the Garden Grows. Please visit the other participants and enjoy their gardening blogs. Leave a comment, and let them know you visited.

~ by byrningbunny on March 30, 2008.

3 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday #2”

  1. Dear Friend

    Your portuguese is better than my english!

    Thanks for give prestige to me!

    I wish you have a nice week.

    Luiz

  2. It will be great to find all your new plants once the snow is gone. Sounds like fun!

  3. Sometimes trees are beyond saving. If you cut the huge limb, which appears to be the main limb, I don’t see how it can survive. Or if it does, it probably won’t be very attractive. We have an Acacia that lost its crown in last year’s monsoon storms. We should have taken it out, but I didn’t. Now, it has a side branch growing horizontally–no top. I know it’s hopeless, but I just can’t force myself to get rid of it.
    On a more positive note–happy GTS!
    Aiyana

Leave a Reply

