Heads or Tails: HEADS – Fool

headsorflip1

One of my favorite groups of all time is the Indigo Girls. If you enjoy folk-rock music, you will probably enjoy them, although they aren’t just a folk duo. They are known for their versatility, incredible harmonies and command of numerous acoustic instruments. They also author the poetry they set to their music. Perhaps not coincidentally, I discovered them at the time I was going through the “coming-out” process. As I’ve matured into my new role, their music has been a constant in my life. As they’ve powerfully shared their personal insights with us, I’ve gained insight and perspective and been comforted and motivated by their music. I know they have many fans, but if they are new to you, the following lyrics and links will introduce you to these talented musicians.

ae1

Left Me A Fool

Everybody loves you and they want to know your story
You go riding out a mystery concealed in all your glory
But when it comes to flesh and bones you remind me of Shalot
Only made of shadows even though you’re not

I remember how I spent all my energy and time
With affected conversation trying to pry inside your mind
You are as brilliant as truth and empty as a shell
And I came to you one night and it made me feel like hell

Oh, to reach through all your surface
Just to find an empty pool
And to suffer all your pride as I lay down by your side
And you swallowed up my heart and left me a fool
Left me a fool

Everybody loves a hero an image to create
Antithesis of everything inside themselves they hate
But you’d better close your eyes when it’s time for them to die
Cause you’d hate to think the life we built upon them was a lie

Oh, to reach through all your surface
Just to find an empty pool
And to suffer all your pride as I lay down by your side
And you swallowed up my heart and left me a fool
Left me a fool

I resign myself to silence I will never blow your cover
No one ever has to know who the hero took for lover
But it comes to mind as you blaze on as brilliant as a star
How many you’ve left behind, how many casualties there are

To reach through all your surface
Just to find an empty pool
And to suffer all your pride as I lay down by your side
And you swallowed up my heart and left me a fool
Left me a fool

Power of Two

Now the parking lot is empty
Everyone’s gone someplace
I pick you up and in the trunk I’ve packed
A cooler and a two-day suitcase

Cause there’s a place we like to drive
Way out in the country
Five miles out of the city limit we’re singing
And your hand’s upon my knee

So we’re okay, we’re fine
Baby I’m here to stop your crying
Chase all the ghosts from your head
I’m stronger than the monster beneath your bed
Smarter than the tricks played on your heart
We’ll look at them together then we’ll take them apart
Adding up the total of a love that’s true
Multiply life by the power of two

You know the things I’m afraid of
I’m not afraid to tell
And if we ever leave a legacy
It’s that we loved each other well

Cause I’ve seen the shadows of so many people
Trying on the treasures of youth
But a road that’s fancy and fast ends in a fatal crash
And I’m glad we got off to tell you the truth

Cause we’re okay, we’re fine
Baby I’m here to stop your crying
Chase all the ghosts from your head
I’m stronger than the monster beneath your bed
Smarter than the tricks played on your heart
We’ll look at them together then we’ll take them apart
Adding up the total of a love that’s true
Multiply life by the power of two

Emily: All the shiny little trinkets of temptation
Something new instead of something old
All you gotta do is scratch beneath the surface
And it’s fool’s gold Fool’s gold Fool’s gold

Amy: Make new friends but
Keep the old
But remember
What is gold
What is gold
What is gold

Now we’re talking bout a difficult thing
And your eyes are getting wet
I took us for better and I took us for worse
Now don’t you ever forget

Now the steel bars between me and a promise
Suddenly bend with ease
And the closer I’m bound in love to you
The closer I am to free

So we’re okay, we’re fine
Baby I’m here to stop your crying
Chase all the ghosts from your head
I’m stronger than a monster beneath your bed
I’m smarter than the tricks played on your heart
We’ll look at them together then we’ll take them apart
Adding up the totals of a love that’s true
Multiply life by the power of two

I’ve attempted to embed a YouTube video of the girls. If it doesn’t work (I’m pretty sure WordPress won’t let me embed flash), the title for Power of Two is a link to YouTube. Here’s another couple of my favorites of them, as they sing with Jewel and Sarah McLachlan, and one with P!nk.

Heads or Tails is hosted each Tuesday by Barb at Skittles’ Place. For graphics, directions and participants, please visit her HoT site. Below are this month’s prompts:

April 1 HEADS Fool
April 8 HEADS Express April 15 HEADS *OR* TAILS Tip *OR* Anything that rhymes with Tip
April 22 HEADS Direction April 29 TAILS Share a special memory

~ by byrningbunny on April 1, 2008.

5 Responses to “Heads or Tails: HEADS – Fool”

  1. I haven’t heard of them before – mellow and beautiful voices.Thanks for sharing.

    My H o T is up
    My Little Drummer boys

  2. I love the Indigo Girls! My DIL got me hooked on them a few years ago. đŸ™‚

  3. Awesome post for this week’s theme! I like the Indigo Girls too!

    Hope you had a great Tuesday!

  4. What a nice entry.
    I’ve enjoyed it very much.

  5. Going to have to give them a liste; they sound like a group I’d like!

Leave a Reply

