A Book Review: the burn journals

  • The Book:  the burn journals

  • The Author:  Brent Runyon

  • Genre: Memoir

  • Intended Audience: Young Adult

  • Publisher:  Alfred A. Knopf,, New York, 2004

Brent describes an incident that occurred upon his advent into adolescence and the resulting consequences.  I was told that a reviewer has described this book as “uplifting.”  I would hardly use that word!  This is a book of teenage angst and the world from an early adolescent’s point of view.  Although it is intended for young adults, it is my hope that they would have caring adults in their lives with whom to discuss the emotions and questions this book will certainly stimulate.

The writing style makes it an easy read, almost too easy, considering the seriousness of the content.  Brent is very good at conveying his physical age, psychological state and emotional maturity.  To quote the narrator, “Every time I open my mouth to say what I’m feeling, something stops me and I have to make sure I’m not going to say anything stupid.  It makes me crazy.  And then, once I’ve figured out what I’m going to say, I have to go over it, over and over again, just to see if what I’m feeling is right.  And then I have to figure out how to say it.  Like, if I want to say, I feel sad, do I say, I feel sad, or, I feel so sad, or, Sad I do feel, or what?  How about, Feeling sad am I.  How about, I’m the saddest boy in the world” (pg. 220).

I would highly recommend this book to anyone. 

~ by byrningbunny on May 1, 2008.

5 Responses to “A Book Review: the burn journals”

  1. great book …
    inspiring read.

  2. this book is amaizng

  3. I love this book. Its the best

  4. an amazing book, picked it up at chapters and just had to buy it.

  5. that quote is not on page 220.
    get your facts straight before you post ‘dependable’ info on a public website.
    thank youu.
    (:

Leave a Reply

