Photo Hunt: Time

photohunter3lh6

As I’ve mentioned before, the cycles of the sun, way up here in the North, fascinate me. After we moved up here, I wanted to share all of these fascinating new facts with my family and friends, so I labeled a picture to send with an email (because how could they NOT be as fascinated as me? ;))

Looking through our front window, I could see a golden glow on the Eastern tip of the Southern horizon. As the day progresses, we can watch the sun move across the Southern horizon. Other Canadians probably think, duh, when they read those words, because this is normal for them. But I’m used to the sun following the numbers on the clock — 12:00 o’clock means the sun is directly overhead, not centered in the Southern horizon.

So far, I continue to be amazed at the differences in light quality and shadow length and directions (and of course, how short or long the days can be.) At home, I could always tell what time of day it was by the lighting. I’m still working on restructuring this skill in my new environment!

February 5, 2005 9sm

TNChick is our host each Saturday as we go on our Photo Hunt. Please visit her for code and instructions, and  photohunt” target=”_blank”>photohunt’ target=_blank>Technorati to see other participants.

~ by byrningbunny on May 3, 2008.

12 Responses to “Photo Hunt: Time”

  1. Interesting post and a good take on the theme. I would have trouble getting used to looking somewhere different for the sun as I’m very oriented to where I live. In the morning I look east – northeast and in the late afternoon I look west – southwest. I enjoyed your take on the theme and that’s a beautiful photograph.

  2. Beautiful shot. It’s amazing how different things are in different areas. This is a great take on the theme. Hope you can come check out my time photo here.

  3. Wonderful shot… that certainly would take some getting used to! Safe travels to you and yours!

  4. Lovely photo! I don’t think I’d be able to get used to it, but then again, with beauty like that right out the window, maybe I could. 🙂 Happy hunting!

  5. Living in the tropics, I am so used to having the sun at 90 degrees orientation at 12, too. Thanks for sharing a beautiful photo. And fr sharing this tidbit about Canada.

  6. Huh. I never realized the difference in the way the sun travels. The Photo Hunt is so educational! 🙂

  7. that’s beautiful.
    i wish you luck in adjusting your body ad mind clock.

    c”,) Morning Sniffles

  8. that’s beautiful.
    i wish you luck in adjusting your body ad mind clock.

  9. I’m from Australia so it took me a long time to get used to the Canadian light too, plus the temperatures. This is a lovely photo how could they not be interested?

  10. Beautiful photo! 🙂 Gorgeous choice for time!

  11. Such a gorgeous shot early in the morning. I gotta tell ya I’m commenting here because I could stand to read all the gross things you had to write about for TT13. Gak! Ha!

  12. couldn’t stand…duh!

Leave a Reply

