Trav’s Staying Out of the Dungeon Meme

I was tagged by Mimi to participate in Trav’s Staying Out Of The Dungeon Trivia Meme. This occurred while my computer was out of commission, so I didn’t realize I’d been tagged until I saw this at Poetartica!

  1. Choose a category from one of these: Television, Stage & Screen, Nightly News, Publishing, Lives & Times, Music
  2. Find 8 bits of trivia about your selected category
  3. Be sure to let me know when…ok, if…you decide to play along so I can see what you come up with.
  4. You may tag, or simply offer the meme for borrowing or stealing as you like.

mosquito cartoon

One of the things that certainly surprised me about my move North was the vast abundance of flies and mosquitoes. I’m one of those folks that they swarm, in their search for a blood sacrifice. As we’ve left the days of snow behind, we’ve begun the days of bugs, so they are ever on my mind and skin. And, because of the fear of West Nile Virus, they are on the minds of many others apparently, because they are frequently in the Nightly News!

  1. Mosquitoes have been around for more than 30 million years!
  2. Word History**: “Flies will never be popular creatures, in spite or because of their omnipresence. Two examples of the fly’s influence on our lives can be found in the etymologies of the words mosquito and musket, both of which can be traced back to musca, the Latin word for fly. This Latin word became mosca in Spanish and Portuguese, Romance languages that developed from Vulgar Latin. Mosquito, the diminutive of mosca, was borrowed into English (first recorded around 1583) with the same sense “mosquito” that it had in Spanish and Portuguese. The Romance language French was the source of our word musket (first recorded around 1587), which came from French mousquet, which entered French from yet another Romance language, Italian. From Italian mosca, another descendant of Latin musca, was formed the diminutive moschetta with the senses “bolt for a catapult” and “small artillery piece.” From moschetta came moschetto, “musket,” the source of French mousquet. The use of moschetta, literally “little fly,” to mean “bolt from a crossbow” can be ascribed to the fact that both bolt and insect fly, buzz, and sting.” The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2003. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company.
  3. Mosquitoes belong to the order “Diptera“, or true flies.
  4. Bites from mosquitoes that aren’t infected by the West Nile virus may make the disease worse in people who acquire it later from West Nile-infected mosquitoes.
  5. Bites from mosquitoes not infected with malaria may trigger an immune response, which may then limit malarial-causing parasite development following bites from malaria-infected mosquitoes.
  6. Mosquito larvae are such effective filter feeders that they can clean polluted water.
  7. Mosquitoes transmit pathogens that cause some of the worst diseases known, including malaria, yellow fever, dengue fever and encephalitis.
  8. Only female mosquitoes feed on blood. The blood is necessary for their reproductive tasks. Males feed on nectar and are helpful pollinators (who knew?!!)

If mosquitoes are a problem in your locale, here are some tips from Lighter Footstep to help you.

I would love to tag LovesMukiwa, The Quarter Life Chronicles, A Place I Call Home, and I think History is Elementary would have fun with this one. As I said before, if you hate meme’s sorry, but consider it a compliment!

~ by byrningbunny on June 2, 2008.

4 Responses to “Trav’s Staying Out of the Dungeon Meme”

  1. Good info. Now I need to know if it is true that the males are those huge huge mosquitoes that people see. I keep being told that but I don’t know.

  2. Nice post, when I was in college parasitology was my favorite subject. I learned that mosquitoes are the vectors of diseases that kills thousands of life in Africa and Asia. Anyway with this post my mind was again refresh…

    I would also like to share with you something about earthquake, just a little bit of facts about it

    http://ordinarybiscuit.blogspot.com/2008/06/earthquakes-why-do-they-occur.html

    Till then…

  3. How interesting! Give me a day or two since I’m presently swamped with “stuff”. Thanks for thinking of me!

  4. That is a cool meme! I like it. Great facts, BTW.

Leave a Reply

