Our puppy Shiloh

I’m a little behind in my blogging again. We had some problems with our connection because of an electrical storm and that slowed me down, but the next day we had a tragedy.

IMG 0557

 

Our beautiful new puppy, Shiloh, has been run over by a car. He was so seriously injured that we had to put him to sleep. He was having the time of his life at the moment he was hit, so we keep trying to remember that he was happy and loved.

He enjoyed being out here so much and had many friends. Tora was his snuggle partner and his adopted mother. He always looked to her as a compass. Where she was, he would follow.

Zuva would play and play with him once she figured out how to do it without hurting him. It was hilarious to watch because she would run around and around him, zooming in and out of trees and objects, and then run back to him and wrestle for a while. She let him chase her and catch her sometimes and she would lay on her back so he would have a fair advantage in their wrestling matches. She would also find branches or sticks that were small enough for him to get in his mouth and then they would play tug of war. She was very good to him and he loved following her around on their daily patrols and explorations.

Helios was also his very good friend. From day one, Helios was very patient with him and would roll over on is back and swat and tease him. They would play like this for long periods of time. Of course, Shiloh never tired of the game and would bark and bark in joy, but eventually Helios would jump up where he couldn’t be reached anymore.

Sometimes when Shiloh hit that point in his day where a puppy just has to collapse in an exhausted nap, Helios would curl up with him. When this would happen, the other cats (Nyx, Gina and Angel) would notice that the puppy was finally sleeping and then they would curl up by him too. There were times that I found he and Sadie sleeping on the sheepskin, but not snuggled. Sadie had his reputation to consider! All of this sleeping together would only occur AFTER Shiloh was already sleeping though.

Shiloh and my little man loved to play together. They learned tug of war from Zuva and adapted it to their skill level. My little man has the patience of a gnat, so more often than not, he would end up running with whatever was supposed to be tugged and the puppy would chase him. They loved this game and would go forever.

We have shed many tears over the loss of the youngest member of our little family/pack. I will especially miss my little exploring partner. He always stayed close by my side in our explorations and we were fascinated together with each new thing we’d find. Afterwards, he always came in for a nap and a snuggle in my lap. I will miss him very much. In my grief, I’ve not felt much like writing. I’ll be back soon.

~ by byrningbunny on June 6, 2008.

8 Responses to “Our puppy Shiloh”

  1. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your puppy–he really was a cutie. It’s so difficult to lose a beloved pet. I hope things look a little brighter for you as the days go on.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss. Animals are like members of our families.

  3. 😦
    That is such a bummer… take care.

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  5. 😦 😦
    Sorry to hear that. Think of him, over Rainbow Bridge 🙂
    Take care!

  6. I am so sorry to hear about this! We’ve had family visiting and a death in our family as well, so I’ve not been visiting blogs much for a week. I’m sorry to have missed this until today. I completely understand how it rips at your heart to lose a precious four-legged family member. My thoughts are with you.

  7. I am so sorry to hear of this sad loss.
    It is never easy when we lose a pet.

  8. Oh my God, Bunny, I am so very sorry about your tragedy. I can barely believe it. I want to send you comfort and love . . . . somehow. You are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

