Heads or Tails Tuesdays: Flower

flip2

The first year we moved to Canada, I spent many hours in the yard cleaning up detritus and weeding. One of the plants I almost “weeded” out of existence was this beautiful Monkshood.

P1010004

I had never seen one before and I didn’t recognize the shoots mixed in with many weeds I did recognize. Luckily, I thought I better give it a chance and this is the gift we received. (You can see that I let others live too that shouldn’t have been in this part of the garden!)

P1010007

I’ve looked in many books to try and match pictures with this plant, but the closest I can ever come is Monkshood. If I have misnamed it, I would love for someone to correct me.

P1010006

We love it and are looking to plant some in our new yard. We purchased the Baptisia thinking it looked similar — and it does! But it’s not the same plant. 🙂

Heads or Tails on Tuesdays is hosted each week by Skittles. Although this was (supposed to be) a week off, please join us again next week.

~ by byrningbunny on June 19, 2008.

One Response to “Heads or Tails Tuesdays: Flower”

  1. Outstanding flower! Never seen it before. I don’t pull anything up anymore since I’m so stupid about plants. So nothing is a weed anymore!

Leave a Reply

