Rescue attempt

We have had many blue jays in our yard since we moved to this new property. They are frequent callers at the bird feeders and like to hang out on the cable wires in the front of our house. I love their bright blue color and audacious personalities!

I’ve already mentioned that we have many breeding birds in various locations around our property. They are all very loud and obnoxious if you get to close to “their” territory and none of them like it when my pack and I start of on one of our jaunts. I am familiar with the territory of the barn swallows (that one is easy — they’ve kicked us out of our barn!) and I found one of the blue jay nests the other day. I still don’t know where the robins are nesting, but I did happen to stumble upon another blue jay family today.

I kept hearing the awful screeching noise this morning as I was playing with my little man. After a while it disturbed me to the point that I had to see why they were so distressed. As I went down our little path, I cam upon my dog Zuva headed in my direction. Two blue jays kept zooming back and forth in front of me, trying to keep me from heading in that direction. Well, I’m not very good at following rules, so I kept going in the direction they were trying to block.

I think it’s a good thing that I did go over there. There was a baby blue jay on his back with his wings spread out. At first I thought he was dead. But as I knelt closer to look, I could see his heart beating. I tried to gently pick him up, but his wings were emeshed with the grass. How would that happen? I don’t have a clue. Anyway, I gently eased my hands under him from either side, but he just lay on his back, so I thought he was paralyzed or dying. I headed towards his noisy parents and the bushes they were trying to protect and as we got closer he startled me by flying away.

Immediately those demon parents were at work again, screeching and yelling at us to get away. I gathered my little flock and herded them back through the path and admonished them all to stay away. Later that day, I heard the parents yelling again, so I called Zuva, and sure enough she came skulking out of the trees. That became a pattern throughout the day. If the pets or baby went in their direction, the parents let me know, and I kept the area clear.

The problem is, I don’t know if the baby is okay. I haven’t had a chance to do much research yet, so I don’t know if blue jays are the kind of birds that just launch themselves out of the nest or if someone went into the next to get the bird. I’ve heard that some birds are not welcome back to the nest if they’ve been touched by humans. I hope I did the right thing today, when I picked the little guy up to return him to his parents.

~ by byrningbunny on June 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

