Integrity?

As I sit here typing, I’m watching the little network indicators flash the blue globe on and off again, to be intermittently replaced with the yellow triangle and the red X.    It’s now been a week since I’ve been able to access the network.  I finally called the company we use for internet access, again, and explained my problem, again.  She gave me a new fix for the problem and explained that it will work for minutes at a time and that’s the best she can do for me until the guys get back from vacation.  Good luck.  Bye.

Why has customer service changed so much?  I’ve worked in customer service in my checkered past, and my immediate response would have been, “why mrs. so & so, I am so sorry to hear you are having a problem.  We will adjust your bill to reflect the time you haven’t been able to access our service.  If you will follow these steps, blah, blah, blah.  We will be happy to schedule one of our service people to check your equipment, blah, blah, blah.”

Does anyone have any good reason why I should pay for a service I don’t recieve?  Or understand why I should have to beg for recognition that I shouldn’t have to pay for the service I don’t recieve?  We are offline more days a month than we are online.  They have equipment that records every second of that process.  I know because she reads it to me whenever I call her.  How can they, in good conscience, charge us every month?  Furthermore, why isn’t it illegal for them to charge me for a service they don’t deliver?  And why isn’t it their responsibility to bill accurately from their records?  Does integrity even exist anymore?

~ by byrningbunny on July 31, 2008.

4 Responses to “Integrity?”

  1. I’m seriously starting to think that good customer service is a thing of the past.

  2. There’s nothing more frustrating…good luck with a fix!

  3. Noooooo, it’s can’t be autumn yet! Nice colors 😀

    Tink *~*~*
    My Mobile Adventures *~*~*

  4. When I was living at home with my parents, our internet would play up A LOT-and a lot of the time we would be told to go down to thee nearest electronic store to buy yet another new part in order for the internet to work…just to have it stop working again in a few weeks time. After a few years we FINALLY were told to check a part on the phone line (it was broadband) and we discovered that THAT was probably the whole issue the whole time. The part in question had to be about 30 years old (the house is around 50) and luckily it was easy to replace it. Of course all those years that we would have to fight to get online, and would basically throw away money for a service we couldn’t even access.

    The point of my story-perhaps the issues with your internet is something small that can be easily fixed but easily missed. I’m sure you are using equipment that is newer than 30 years but still, there’s always a chance that something minor is broken causing all the problems.

Leave a Reply

