Booking Through Thursday: Collectibles

  • Hardcover? Or paperback?
  • Illustrations? Or just text?
  • First editions? Or you don’t care?
  • Signed by the author? Or not?

Last Thursday, I was preoccupied (see WW photo).  What you don’t see in that pic is me chasing him, while cradling a sick baby in my arms!  I thought I’d answer the questions from last week and see if any great books come to mind for this weeks prompt, while I write.

First of all, I’m not much of a fan of collectibles, per se.  They don’t fit with our lifestyle!  We’ve moved far too often and lived in nasty, damp and drafty college housing, often, along the way.  Our books take a beating.  We dream of a library of our own, with beautiful built-ins, hardwood (of course), and a ladder on wheels.  Until that day, paperbacks, all the way.  Besides, paperbacks are so much easier to read when you are lying in bed.  Has anyone else gotten in trouble for making too much noise while turning the pages?

I love illustrated texts.  When I read a fantasy/sci-fi novel, the first thing I look for is the map!  And as a child, I loved the illustrated Children’s Classics.  But when I’m reading anything else, no illustrations.  They are distracting and disillusioning.  I create the characters and settings in my mind as I read, and the illustrations just don’t match.  So then I have to ponder about that, which makes me wonder what else I’ve missed.

If I was actually collecting, then it seems like it would be a waste not to get first editions.  For other purposes, though, I just don’t care.  We have a gazillion children’s books (I prefer hard cover here because Mr. Destructo has a more difficult time tearing them apart) and I’ve never once checked to see if it was a first edition.  I just pick up books I loved (Bobsey twins or Nancy Drew), or that I think will be fun for the kids or Wubby (Enid Blyton).  Just had another thought about first editions  — since we are both readers, I want to touch and read my books.  I read them from the very first page to the very last.  I touch them often.  I reread them.  Wubby rereads them.  The baby gnaws on them and my little man has recently discovered how much fun it is to draw in them.  I’ve also been know to spill chocolate milk occasionally.   If I had first editions, I wouldn’t want anyone to TOUCH them!  And what good would that do anybody?  Jeez, just imagine if you loaned someone a book and they never returned it.  The first edition thing just seems like too much of an effort for our life, even if we eventually get our dream library.  I always want kids to feel free to pick up and read any book they find in my house (we can discuss appropriate content for kids at a later date–lol.)

We have some books signed by the author.  Lucy Greely is the only name that comes to mind right now.  I like books signed by the author, if I was the person who got the signature.  It gives deeper dimension to whatever I am reading.  Again, if it was a first edition, collectible, then I believe it probably woulld add value.

I’m still pondering books I’ll get to someday.  Animal Farm is the only one I can think of right now.  I KNOW there are many more on the list, so I’ll have to address it again some other day.

Follow the Booking Through Thursday link for more bookish opinions.

~ by byrningbunny on March 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

