I LOVE Libraries

btt2

Suggested by Barbara:

I saw that National Library week is coming up in April, and that led to some questions. How often do you use your public library and how do you use it? Has the coffeehouse/bookstore replaced the library? Did you go to the library as a child? Do you have any particular memories of the library? Do you like sleek, modern, active libraries or the older, darker, quiet, cozy libraries?

Now that we live in a small town, we are addicted to our library.  We made a commitment to stop spending money on books (our mutual weakness), so we have become reliant on our library.  It’s tiny, really tiny, and has an awful selection!  We don’t really enjoy the latest love stories (sorry, but str8 love stories are kind of boring to us.  Imagine that!), or the latest in religious fiction.  The absolute best thing about our library is that we can order books online.  If they have the book we are interested in, anywhere in the province, it will be shipped to us.  Wubby is always checking the New York Times for the latest and greatest — she prefers autobiographies that she can discuss with her mom, and I spend time looking through sci-fi/fantasy and lesbian fiction forums to make my lists of books to order.  We both like action/adventure/espionage and can occasionally find those in our library without having to order them.

I loved libraries as a child, and I prefer the old-fashioned, cozy ones.  I’ve never really gone in and sat down to read a book, but it sure looks inviting.  I much prefer to crash on the bed with a book.  That way, when I get sleepy, I’m close to my pillows!  Do they still have rules about not eating in the library?

I do enjoy the new coffee shop/library combinations.  When we lived close to one, it was a dangerous (expensive) temptation to us.  I also enjoyed the fact that they had magazines that we can’t find anywhere else.  We’ve always lived in conservative towns, and they certainly don’t cater to the GLBT trade.  The larger chains automatically include us, and I appreciate that.

I don’t believe the coffehouse has replaced the library.  I think (hope) there will always be a place for the library in our society.  Library books saved my life as a kid, and I’m willing to bet there are many kids today who still rely on their libraries for facts and fiction.  Not everyone can afford to buy a book about everything that interests them.  Nor does everyone have access to a computer!

I believe that is one way that libraries will survive.  They continue to provide a service to the community.  We take our kids to the story time hour every week.  They have computers that members of the community can sign up to use.  They also have magazines and books on tape that you can check out.  I know there are book clubs and other services they provide.  So my vote, it it counts for anything, is to keep libraries in our communities.  They rock!

~ by byrningbunny on April 2, 2009.

One Response to “I LOVE Libraries”

  1. I didn’t spend too much time in the library when I was younger – well, except for the school library. I have gone off and on over my adult years, but have been thinking long and hard about going on a regular basis.

    To save a little money, we have gotten rid of our cable TV, so now I am reading close to a book a day – sometimes in two days, since I am not just vegging in front of TV. So far I have been trading books with my sister – but if I start buying books, then it will against the whole point of getting rid of cable anyway :-D. SO – I have been thinking about adding a weekly trip to the library to my schedule.

    The school libraries were where I spent most of my time, too. 🙂 I always managed to coax my teachers to let me go during class time.

Leave a Reply

